Forum

ARMA Pins and Subgr...

ARMA Pins and Subgroups  

RSS

Andrew Ysasi, MS
(@andrew)
Member Admin
03/10/2018 11:33 am  

Ok, so I've been part of ARMA since 2007 (I know...I'm still a rookie ;)).  One thing that found out going to my first ARMA conference are the pins and subgroups.  Let's start with what I believe are conference specific pins.

There is the annual ARMA conference pin everyone receives.  There is also a pin for certified members of the ICRM (new pins came in recently!), there is a Goose pin that I believe is from ARMA Canada.  Is there an FAI pin for fellows?

Then there are pins for the subgroups.  For example, the ARMA Nostra is a group called the "family" that you can join, get a pin, and all proceeds get donated to the AIEF.  Second, there is The Clancy Clan.  The Clancy's are "drinkers with a records management problem" and are gathering Monday during this conference.  You get a pin, pay a fee, and have to participate in a group initiation activity that always gets a laugh!  Donations go to AIEF as well.  

There is also another group that has a ruby slipper for a pin.  While I have received a number of different explanations, this group appears to be the ARMA Pride group.  Unsure if there is a fee to join, but there is usually a party associated with it! 

Anyone else have their own ARMA pin or subgroup story?  Can anyone else help me fill in the blanks?  I wonder if IG GURU members will get a pin?!

Andrew Ysasi, MS
FIP, CIPM, CIPP, CISM, PMP, CRM, IGP
Vice President of Advocacy | VRC

DouglasPAllen
(@douglaspallen)
03/10/2018 12:11 pm